Troop 10 traces its roots to 1957 when 10 boys from the First Congregational Church of Meriden Sunday School, sponsored by the Merry Mates social club which also provided the leadership, began to meet. This organization is the oldest continuously chartered troop in Connecticut. William “Doc” Wheaton was the first scoutmaster and continued in that role for the next 25 years. Other scoutmasters since then have included Carl Brechlin, Paul Charest, Kurt Peterson and Adam Zysk.

Troop 10 in 1957 - Scoutmaster Bill Wheaton far right

A typical meeting started with a Scout formation, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance, Scout Oath and laws, and announcements about upcoming meetings and events. Also included were advancement classes from Tenderfoot to Eagle Scout, Courts of Review and advancement ceremonies, a game period of scouting skills (such as fitness, knot tying, first aid, signaling, compass training, lashings, biking and campfire planning) and a closing ceremony.

Outdoor activities included day hikes, overnight hikes, first day of fishing campout, and an annual hike and overnight in an Appalachian Mountain Hut in New Hampshire’s White Mountains (often climbing Mt. Washington). Others activities included fall and spring camporees, Deep Freeze Survival campout, and the Klondike Derby winter camporee.